“I would highly appreciate very much if you would at least acknowledge any materials used or at least ask for a permission first. All materials, unless specified, are the personal property of the blog owner. Thank you very much!”

Wednesday, June 15, 2016


Here's a rare TV footage of FPJ receiving and delivering an acceptance and thank you speech during the First Gawad Direk held at the AFP Auditorium, August 15, 2003. Thanks to Tina for the copy.

In 2003, The Directors Guild of the Philippines, Inc. (DGPI) held its first Gawad Direk at the AFP Auditorium, with Vilma Santos and Christopher de Leon as hosts. It gave tribute to five Filipino filmmakers for their impressive body of works in local cinema. The recipients were National Artist Eddie Romero ("Ganito Kami Noon, Paano Kayo Ngayon," "Sino'ng Kasiping, Sino'ng Kapiling," "Agila"), Celso Ad. Castillo ("Burlesk Queen," "Pagputi ng Uwak, Pag-itim ng Tagak"), Emmanuel H. Borlaza (for his well-crafted melodramas based on komiks novels like "Dapat Ka Bang Mahalin" and "Bituing Walang Ningning"), Ronwaldo Reyes (the pseudonym of Fernando Poe, Jr. who excelled in the action genre like in "Muslim Magnum .357," "Kapag Puno Na ang Salop"), and the late Luciano B. Carlos (a topnotch comedy director who directed Dolphy hits like "Facifica Falayfay" and "Fefita Fofonggay.")

Courtesy of RPN-9

No comments: